horns a plenty 960x450px

Horns a Plenty

Saturday 17 June 2023, 7.30pm

James Tatoulis Auditorium - MLC - Kew

Horntastic music of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries

The concert will open with the overture to Beethoven's only opera, Fidelio (originally Leonore, or The Triumph of Marital Love), the final of four different overtures written over almost a decade. This will be followed by Haunted Hills, a symphonic poem composed in 1950 by one of Australia's best-known composers, Margaret Sutherland AO OBE.

Opal: Double Concerto for Horns and Orchestra was premiered in 2021 by the MSO's Nicolas Fleury and Rachel Shaw. We're delighted to both present this work with the same soloists and have an opportunity to once again perform a work by May Lyon. As the 2016 Zelman Symphony / University of Melbourne Emerging Composer, May wrote Nornir Concerto for Viola to Violin. Featuring violinist and violist Kat Tsyrlin, its theme was "The Three Norns" (female goddesses) from Norse mythology.

The night will conclude with Brahms' acclaimed First Symphony. In 1876, after 21 years and numerous drafts, Brahms proclaimed it was finally a worthy successor to Beethoven’s symphonies.


Rick Prakhoff – conductor

Nicolas Fleury – horn

Rachel Shaw – horn


Beethoven – Fidelio Op. 72: Overture

Sutherland – Haunted Hills

Lyon – Opal: Double Concerto for Horns and Orchestra

Brahms – Symphony No. 1 in C minor Op. 68


Phone Bookings 8899 7445


James Tatoulis Auditorium - MLC - Kew
Methodist Ladies' College, 207 Barkers Rd, Kew VIC 3101
Venue opens at 7.00pm